Skip to main content

Lexington Avenue KinderCare

Mrs. Katie Barron, Center Director

3420 Lexington Ave. N. Shoreview MN 55126
(651) 482-7689 Contact this center

Ages: 6 Weeks to 6 YEAR-OLDS
Open:

Show other centers nearby

Neighborhood:
Shoreview Neighborhood

Elementary Schools Bussed To:
Not offered at this time.

Welcome

Welcome to our Nationally Accredited Lexington Avenue KinderCare Learning Center in Shoreview, MN. We are passionate about providing the highest quality learning environment for children ages six weeks to six years. With our NAEYCE Accreditation, 150 years of teaching experience, and best possible Parent Aware Rating, Lexington Avenue KinderCare is uniquely positioned to provide the utmost quality of care for your child.

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our center. We are delighted to share our excitement about our program, and to welcome you as a part of our KinderCare family!

 

Mrs. Katie Barron, Center Director

Read more
  • Accreditation Seal Every Day · Every Child · Excellence · Accreditated · Knowledge Universe
  • NAEYC Accreditation NAEYC

Image Gallery

children with teacher

AMERICA’S MOST ACCREDITED

We’re so proud!

Nationally only 10% of daycares are accredited–nearly 100% of our learning centers are. That’s a big difference, and that means KinderCare kids are getting the very best. Here’s why.

illustrated bear in rocketship

SCHOOL-READY

Our kids are taking off!

By kindergarten, our kids are testing ahead of their peers. Read all about it.

Accreditation

Many of our child care centers are accredited by national organizations that require us to meet rigorous early childhood education standards and guidelines for high-quality care and education. Programs that are accredited have demonstrated their commitment to go beyond the state’s minimum licensing requirements to meet and maintain these high standards of quality.

Monthly Activities

July's Learning Focus

Children 6 weeks to 3 years old: What’s the Weather and Wonderful Water
This month we go all natural as infants and toddlers are introduced to the weather and children in Discovery Preschool experiment and have fun with water. Sensory adventures will continue for infants as they explore playing with colored water and experiment with how pinwheels and scarves move in the wind. Meanwhile, toddlers will use musical instruments to create the sound of rain and will connect their learning to the world as they role-play different weather scenarios, such as a warm summer day at the beach and a cold, snowy winter day. In Discovery Preschool, children will be learning about different bodies of water as well as how people use water in their everyday lives.

Children 4 to 5 years old: Spectacular Science and All About Books
In the first two weeks of this month, we take older children on a scientific journey of discovery to learn more about the natural world before turning the focus to the amazing world of books! Preschoolers will learn about states of matter, force, motion, and magnetism; children in Pre-K will learn about natural formations like rivers, mountains, and deserts; and kindergarteners will discover the importance of reducing, reusing, and recycling. When we turn to books, children will learn about the different parts of books, explore the roles of author and illustrator, and learn what makes a book fiction or nonfiction.

Our Programs

Infant Programs (6 weeks - 1 year)

Babies grow and learn every day. Our goal is to provide a safe and nurturing "home away from home" where babies can explore and make new discoveries. We know that learning through play is extremely valuable at this age and our Early Foundations® Infant program is designed to give babies the skills that will serve as the building blocks for a lifetime of learning.

Toddler Programs (1 – 2 Years)

As toddlers develop friendships, self-esteem, and curiosity, our Early Foundations® Toddler program will help them explore their world in a safe and nurturing environment. Our unique curriculum is based on the philosophy that children learn best through experiences. So each day is filled with fun activities that excite and develop toddlers, giving them the comfort and confidence to speak those first few important words, as well as make their first friends.

Discovery Preschool Programs (2 – 3 Years)

At this age, children are making new discoveries daily. And as two-year olds begin to exert their independence, our Early Foundations® Discovery Preschool program is prepared to open their eyes to a world of learning, sharing, and exploring. Our holistic approach in the classroom engages young minds with a blend of music, art, and movement, as well as the early education fundamentals they'll need as they continue on to preschool.

Preschool Programs (3 – 4 Years)

As preschoolers gain more self-esteem, they may feel ready to take on the world. Our Early Foundations® Preschool program enhances that confidence by providing activities to help children become problem solvers and lifelong learners. Through independent exploration, structured activities, and hands-on learning, children will work on early literacy, math, science, and social studies concepts. A healthy dose of running, jumping, and dancing keeps them active too.

Prekindergarten Programs (4 – 5 Years)

Prekindergartners are preparing for the adventure of a lifetime – school. And our Early Foundations Prekindergarten® program is designed to get them ready by teaching letters and words, math concepts, and valuable social skills. With small group instruction, independent play in an organized atmosphere, and whole-group activities, children will have all the right skills to hop, skip, and jump right into kindergarten.

Participating Child Care Aware Center

KinderCare has partnered with Child Care Aware® of America in an effort to offer fee assistance for Active Duty military families and solutions to their child care needs when care at a Child Development Center on the installation is not available.

Learning Adventures - Enrichment Program

Cooking

The Cooking Adventures program gives children opportunities to participate in fun, developmentally appropriate cooking experiences. They will learn about recipes, ingredients, cooking vocabulary, and the importance of a healthy diet. The curriculum includes lessons on picnics, pizza, and heart-healthy meals.

Math

The Math Adventures enrichment program is designed to teach important mathematics concepts such as geometry, numbers, measurement, and probability. Your child will learn about length, height, and weight. He will learn about shapes and solids. He will learn how to add, subtract, multiply, and count money. Math is everywhere and giving your child every advantage now will add up to success later in life.

Music

Ongoing research proves that early exposure to music helps children think, reason, create, and express themselves. Children will laugh and learn about rhythm, vocal melodies, and a variety of musical genres and instruments, which can lower stress and advance memory. Learning never sounded so good.

Phonics & Reading Adventures

Set your child up for advanced success with literacy through phonics, the study of letters and sounds. Reader books, games, and activity cards help your child understand the basics of vowels and blending syllables, giving him confidence and command of language.

Teachers & Staff

We welcome you to get to know the passionate and dedicated teachers at Lexington Avenue KinderCare, in Shoreview.  We are so pleased to be able to share in the joy and pride families feel as their children reach all of their important developmental milestones.

We encourage you to explore our Teacher biographies, and to get to know more about our fantastic team of educators.

  • Mrs. Katie Barron

    Mrs. Katie Barron, Center Director

    Every child is gifted, they just unwrap their packages at different times.

    Katie is the Center Director at the Lexington Shoreview KinderCare. She believes that being a leader is someone who demonstrates what's possible and bring out the greatness that others already have inside them. Katie is married to her Husband Sean who works for the city of New Brighton and has two young children. Braden who is five and Keegan who is 2. You will often find Katie and her family in the community. They spend a lot of their time at parks, restaurants, festivals and taking road trips. Katie loves forming relationships with every family that walks in the door and excited to be part of every stepping stone that a child takes. 

    Previous Experience:
    Katie has served many different roles in the past ten years at KinderCare. She has been a Infant Teacher, Preschool Teacher, Prekindergarten Teacher and Assistant Director.
    Favorite Children's Book:

    The Giving Tree

    Year Started:
    2/2/2007
    Tenure:
    10 Years
    Years in ECE industry:
    12
    Education:
    Childcare Specialist Degree
  • Ms. Ashley Geistfled, Assistant Director

    Ashley graduated from Winona State University with a degree in Early Childhood and Elementary Education. Ashley had influential teachers in her educational background which helped her in return to be role model for other children. After being a toddler teacher she wanted to expand her knowledge to being an assistant director. She has been at Lexington Ave KinderCare since August 2016. Her passion is to share the knowledge she has learn with other staff and children in her care! 

    Year Started:
    9/6/2006
    Tenure:
    10 Years
  • Miss Ashley

    Miss Ashley, Infant A

    Miss Ashley is the perfect compliment to the strong infant team. She is one of the most organized, structured people I know. She has found her true passion in children, and will have a very successful career with us at KinderCare. More information coming soon!

  • Ms. Jen

    Ms. Jen, Infant A

    There is nothing more contagious than laughter of young children: it doesn't even matter what they are laughing about. - Criss Jami

    Ms. Jen joined KinderCare in 1999 and has her Child Development Associate's Credential. She enjoys watching each child discover who they are, and she loves to see their individual imaginations at work. She takes great pleasure in contributing to help children reach all of the important developmental milestones in the Infant room, and she takes great pride watching them progress through the classroom levels at Lexington Avenue KinderCare, all the while building upon their earliest educational accomplishments.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    Moo Baa La La La
    Year Started:
    8/1/1999
    Tenure:
    18 Years
    Education:
    Child Development Associate's Credential
  • Ms. Jamie

    Ms. Jamie, Infant B

    I believe in taking the time to know each individual child in order to meet their needs. I want them to become confident, creative and successful students as they grow to be the most amazing person they can be.

    Ms. Jamie's impressive experience as an Early Childhood Educator makes her an incredibly valued member of our group of educators.  

    Ms. Jamie has been with KinderCare since 1979 and teaches in the Infant classroom. With Early Childhood Education courses at St. Paul Technical College and Century College, Jamie brings a wealth of knowledge to the Lexington Avenue KinderCare team. She has worked with children of all ages, from Infant to PreKindergarten.

    She enjoys watching children go through new experiences, and learn from each one as they progress through their developmental journey. Ms. Jamie truly loves being around children who are excited and motivated by learning something new.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    Angels Everywhere
    Year Started:
    9/1/1979
    Tenure:
    37 Years
  • Ms. Deb

    Ms. Deb, Multi Age

    There is nothing I love more than seeing children grow and learn in such amazing and inspiring ways!

    Deb has been a KinderCare employee since 2015, but she has been a part of the KinderCare family since 2011! She loved the experience her child has had while enrolled in our programs, and wanted to help other children benefit from our enrichments and environment in the same wonderful ways that her son has.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    All Kids Books!!
    Year Started:
    3/18/2015
    Tenure:
    2 Years
  • Ms. Ellie

    Ms. Ellie, Multiage Specialist

    In life you have two choices: To become BETTER or to become BITTER.

    Hi, I'm Ellie! I grew up on a hobby farm and have brought my love of kids, nature, and animals here to KinderCare. I love meeting new people and building relationships with families and children. 

    Previous Experience:
    Special needs PCA Intern at Pediatric Therapy Clinic
    Favorite Children's Book:
    Goodnight Moon
    Year Started:
    8/18/2015
    Tenure:
    1 Year
    Years in ECE industry:
    8
    Education:
    B.S. Kinesiology & Psychology
  • Ms. Terri

    Ms. Terri, Prekindergarten

    I love helping my kids reach their goals and accomplish what at times seems impossible. They are so smart and ready to take on the world; nothing is impossible!

    Miss Terri has been in the education field for the past 25 years. She has worked in elementary schools in a variety of aspects, and saw firsthand how important a foundation of Early Education truly is for a child's elementary school career. Terri has been with KinderCare since October of 2014, and has made our Prekindergarten class shine! She loves the children in her classroom, and from the sounds of joy and wonder in her classroom, it's obvious that they love her too!
     

    Favorite Children's Book:
    If I ran the Zoo
    Year Started:
    10/14/2014
    Tenure:
    2 Years
    Years in ECE industry:
    25

Upcoming Center Activities

July Hero Image
Filter Center Calendar
July
July's Learning Focus

Children 6 weeks to 3 years old: What’s the Weather and Wonderful Water
This month we go all natural as infants and toddlers are introduced to the weather and children in Discovery Preschool experiment and have fun with water. Sensory adventures will continue for infants as they explore playing with colored water and experiment with how pinwheels and scarves move in the wind. Meanwhile, toddlers will use musical instruments to create the sound of rain and will connect their learning to the world as they role-play different weather scenarios, such as a warm summer day at the beach and a cold, snowy winter day. In Discovery Preschool, children will be learning about different bodies of water as well as how people use water in their everyday lives.

Children 4 to 5 years old: Spectacular Science and All About Books
In the first two weeks of this month, we take older children on a scientific journey of discovery to learn more about the natural world before turning the focus to the amazing world of books! Preschoolers will learn about states of matter, force, motion, and magnetism; children in Pre-K will learn about natural formations like rivers, mountains, and deserts; and kindergarteners will discover the importance of reducing, reusing, and recycling. When we turn to books, children will learn about the different parts of books, explore the roles of author and illustrator, and learn what makes a book fiction or nonfiction.

Tuesday July 04, 2017
Center Closed for 4th of July

Monday July 17, 2017
Open House

Save your space today!  Our teachers would like to invite you to our Open House event, from July 17th – 21st.

Come meet our team! They’d love to tell you about their passion for teaching and how our kids enter school better prepared than their peers. Experience what a day at our center is like, meet other parents, and see the fun our students are having. Best of all, you’ll see our curriculum in action and watch the children laugh as they learn. 

Tuesday July 18, 2017
Open House

Save your space today!  Our teachers would like to invite you to our Open House event, from July 17th – 21st.

Come meet our team! They’d love to tell you about their passion for teaching and how our kids enter school better prepared than their peers. Experience what a day at our center is like, meet other parents, and see the fun our students are having. Best of all, you’ll see our curriculum in action and watch the children laugh as they learn. 

Wednesday July 19, 2017
Open House

Save your space today!  Our teachers would like to invite you to our Open House event, from July 17th – 21st.

Come meet our team! They’d love to tell you about their passion for teaching and how our kids enter school better prepared than their peers. Experience what a day at our center is like, meet other parents, and see the fun our students are having. Best of all, you’ll see our curriculum in action and watch the children laugh as they learn. 

Thursday July 20, 2017
Open House

Save your space today!  Our teachers would like to invite you to our Open House event, from July 17th – 21st.

Come meet our team! They’d love to tell you about their passion for teaching and how our kids enter school better prepared than their peers. Experience what a day at our center is like, meet other parents, and see the fun our students are having. Best of all, you’ll see our curriculum in action and watch the children laugh as they learn. 

Friday July 21, 2017
Open House

Save your space today!  Our teachers would like to invite you to our Open House event, from July 17th – 21st.

Come meet our team! They’d love to tell you about their passion for teaching and how our kids enter school better prepared than their peers. Experience what a day at our center is like, meet other parents, and see the fun our students are having. Best of all, you’ll see our curriculum in action and watch the children laugh as they learn. 

About Our Center

Set off the road in the pleasant surroundings of a quiet and secluded Shoreview office park area, our center is both peaceful and spacious. Every teacher at our center implements curriculum that is specifically designed for the age-group in their classroom. This curriculum helps children to gain confidence and mastery of the concepts and ideas that are most important to their educational development. We are dedicated to maintaining extraordinary teaching standards and quality experiences for the children in our care.

Meals & Menus

Meals Served

  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • PM Snack

Additional Menu Options

  • Gluten free
  • Vegetarian
  • Special diets

Center Menu

Holidays Observed

We observe the following holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • President's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • 4th of July
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

Please note that because holidays observed may vary between centers, please be sure to check with your Center Director for specific closures.

Health and Safety

Our number one priority is child safety. All of our teachers are First Aid and CPR certified. In addition, all teachers are trained on Sudden Unexpected Infant Death and Abusive Head Trauma. Many health and safety trainings are conducted annually. We have a dedicated Health and Safety Coordinator on site who conducts monthly Fire and Disaster drills and daily checks of the center, playground and equipment. A Public Health Nurse also visits the center monthly to review our policies and procedures. Our center features fenced playgrounds and a keypad secured entrance. Our teachers conduct name to face attendance every thirty minutes and at transition times.

At KinderCare, what families say about us means a lot. Read below some of the great experiences our families have had with us.

Share Your Story
If you have a story about your experience at KinderCare, please share your story with us.

Both of our children have attended KinderCare since the age of 12 weeks. We chose this school because of the caring staff and the engaging curriculum.  As a new parent, I was terrified to return to work; our experience with KinderCare removed all of my fear and replaced it with gratitude for the wonderful, caring, talented, teachers and the attention and love my children received.

Sending our children to KinderCare has been joyful.  We know they are happy, safe, learning, and feel special. At the end of each day, both of my boys are so excited to share what they've done in the classroom - art work, writing activities, baking classes - this is a hands-on, fun, engaging school with a great curriculum.

 

- Mother

To all families considering this center for care of your children: Our twin girls, now almost four years old, have been coming to KinderCare at the Lexington Avenue location since they were 9 weeks old. As a mom with a full-time, outside-the-home job and a dad on frequent business travel, we have always found the reliability of friendly, knowledgeable teachers with extensive hours (for scheduling flexibility) and thoughtful curriculum (for confidence of learning even at the earliest ages) comforting and ideal. As first-time parents, we were also repeatedly grateful for guidance and experienced suggestions that our teachers would provide when we asked for it. We even learned from the wisdom of other parents at the center with situations similar to ours. Most important is that our daughters are happy and genuinely look forward to going to school each day and to sharing with us the many activities and discoveries they have had when we see them in the afternoons. Like many moms and dads, we wish for more opportunities to be involved with these important events. Throughout the year, KinderCare programs provide us a window into the girls’ day: from conferences with a very helpful and comprehensive evaluation structure, to seasonal galas and performances, to kind and attentive one-on-one talks – showing we are important even when the energetic afternoon bustle surrounds us at pick-up. We’ve even been welcomed to participate as we are able in special daytime activities such as educational guest entertainment, birthday celebrations, and as a volunteer to share in book reading time. And we not only learn daily about our girls’ adventures but we have had the chance to meet many of their friends. We find that it does not take long for a new friend to become a good friend. Make a visit to check out this bright, supportive environment. Sincerely, Liz and Chris A. KinderCare family since January 2009

- Parents
×

See what’s happening on the blog

Our staff would like to welcome you to visit our center. The staff takes pride in keeping up to date with the latest trends in Early Childhood Education. Ongoing training is offered to the staff during the year at the center and though the various training opportunities in the community.

View More

Resources for Parents

Download helpful guides and other resources to make your child care decisions easy.

What should I look for when choosing a childcare center?:

Enrollment Agreement: