Skip to main content

Lexington Avenue KinderCare

Kelly Hollis, Center Director

3420 Lexington Ave. N. Shoreview MN 55126
(651) 482-7689 Contact this center

Ages: 6 Weeks to 6 YEAR-OLDS
Open:

Show other centers nearby

Special Instructions:
"Two miles south of Super Target" next to Lexington Floral

Neighborhood:
Shoreview Neighborhood

Elementary Schools Bussed To:
Not offered at this time.

  • Accreditation Seal Every Day · Every Child · Excellence · Accreditated · Knowledge Universe
  • NAEYC Accreditation NAEYC

Welcome

Welcome to our Nationally Accredited Lexington Avenue KinderCare Learning Center in Shoreview, MN. We are passionate about providing the highest quality learning environment for children ages six weeks to six years. With our NAEYCE Accreditation, 150 years of teaching experience, and best possible Parent Aware Rating, Lexington Avenue KinderCare is uniquely positioned to provide the utmost quality of care for your child.

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our center. We are delighted to share our excitement about our program, and to welcome you as a part of our KinderCare family!

 

Kelly Hollis, Center Director

Image Gallery

Accreditation

Many of our child care centers are accredited by national organizations that require us to meet rigorous early childhood education standards and guidelines for high-quality care and education. Programs that are accredited have demonstrated their commitment to go beyond the state’s minimum licensing requirements to meet and maintain these high standards of quality.

Our Programs

Infant Programs (6 weeks - 1 year)

Babies grow and learn every day. Our goal is to provide a safe and nurturing "home away from home" where babies can explore and make new discoveries. We know that learning through play is extremely valuable at this age and our Early Foundations® Infant program is designed to give babies the skills that will serve as the building blocks for a lifetime of learning.

Toddler Programs (1 – 2 Years)

As toddlers develop friendships, self-esteem, and curiosity, our Early Foundations® Toddler program will help them explore their world in a safe and nurturing environment. Our unique curriculum is based on the philosophy that children learn best through experiences. So each day is filled with fun activities that excite and develop toddlers, giving them the comfort and confidence to speak those first few important words, as well as make their first friends.

Discovery Preschool Programs (2 – 3 Years)

At this age, children are making new discoveries daily. And as two-year olds begin to exert their independence, our Early Foundations® Discovery Preschool program is prepared to open their eyes to a world of learning, sharing, and exploring. Our holistic approach in the classroom engages young minds with a blend of music, art, and movement, as well as the early education fundamentals they'll need as they continue on to preschool.

Preschool Programs (3 – 4 Years)

As preschoolers gain more self-esteem, they may feel ready to take on the world. Our Early Foundations® Preschool program enhances that confidence by providing activities to help children become problem solvers and lifelong learners. Through independent exploration, structured activities, and hands-on learning, children will work on early literacy, math, science, and social studies concepts. A healthy dose of running, jumping, and dancing keeps them active too.

Prekindergarten Programs (4 – 5 Years)

Prekindergartners are preparing for the adventure of a lifetime – school. And our Early Foundations Prekindergarten® program is designed to get them ready by teaching letters and words, math concepts, and valuable social skills. With small group instruction, independent play in an organized atmosphere, and whole-group activities, children will have all the right skills to hop, skip, and jump right into kindergarten.

Participating Child Care Aware Center

KinderCare has partnered with Child Care Aware® of America in an effort to offer fee assistance for Active Duty military families and solutions to their child care needs when care at a Child Development Center on the installation is not available.

Learning Adventures - Enrichment Program

Cooking

The Cooking Adventures program gives children opportunities to participate in fun, developmentally appropriate cooking experiences. They will learn about recipes, ingredients, cooking vocabulary, and the importance of a healthy diet. The curriculum includes lessons on picnics, pizza, and heart-healthy meals.

Math

The Math Adventures enrichment program is designed to teach important mathematics concepts such as geometry, numbers, measurement, and probability. Your child will learn about length, height, and weight. He will learn about shapes and solids. He will learn how to add, subtract, multiply, and count money. Math is everywhere and giving your child every advantage now will add up to success later in life.

Music

Ongoing research proves that early exposure to music helps children think, reason, create, and express themselves. Children will laugh and learn about rhythm, vocal melodies, and a variety of musical genres and instruments, which can lower stress and advance memory. Learning never sounded so good.

Phonics & Reading Adventures

Set your child up for advanced success with literacy through phonics, the study of letters and sounds. Reader books, games, and activity cards help your child understand the basics of vowels and blending syllables, giving him confidence and command of language.

Upcoming Events at our CenterView All Events

  1. Sunday January 01, 2017
    1. January's Learning Focus

      Children 6 weeks to 3 years old: Light and Dark, plus the Sky and Weather

      Through shadow play, experiments with flashlights, observing the Sun and more, infants and toddlers will enjoy learning about light and dark this month. Infants continue sensory development by looking at contrasting patterns and at objects that are clearly defined by sharp edges and bright colors, while toddlers will build on their understanding of the light and dark concepts with play around daytime and nighttime. The older Discovery Preschool children will turn their attention to the sky as they learn about weather, the Moon, the Sun, and stars.

      Children 4–5 years old: Transportation, Healthy Bodies, and Winter

      For children in the Preschool and Kindergarten classrooms, January is filled with variety! They’ll begin by learning about transportation and studying how things get from “here” to “there.” A few weeks later, the focus will shift to health and bodies, with an emphasis placed on how to make good choices for a growing body. Towards the end of the month, children will be introduced to the transformative nature of the winter season and learn how to dress and take care of themselves when it’s cold outside. 

  2. Monday December 26, 2016
    1. Center Closed in Observance of Christmas Day

Teachers & Staff

We welcome you to get to know the passionate and dedicated teachers at Lexington Avenue KinderCare, in Shoreview.  We are so pleased to be able to share in the joy and pride families feel as their children reach all of their important developmental milestones.

We encourage you to explore our Teacher biographies, and to get to know more about our fantastic team of educators.

  • Kelly Hollis

    Kelly Hollis, Center Director

    It is our vision that each child who comes through our door joins a community of children, families and teachers engaged in the joy, work and wonder of childhood!

    Kelly graduated from the University of Minnesota, Duluth with a degree in Elementary Education with a Social Studies and Environmental Science Minor.  She has since spent many years in different roles that support elementary and earlychildhood education,children, and families.  After making the decision to move back to the Twin Cities area from Duluth, she was thrilled to find a home with our KinderCare family!  Kelly brings new ideas, excitement, and compassion to the Lexington Ave center and strives to create meaningful relationships with families, staff and the community.  As a mom of two beautiful girls, Kelly understands the importance of being in a place that is warm, welcoming, and values the care and education of young children.

    Previous Experience:
    Elementary Teacher, Early Childhood Special Education Long Term Substitute, Family Educator, Parent Involvement Coordinator, Title One Teacher specializing in Reading and Math, 4K Teacher and Early Childhood Programs Director.
    Favorite Children's Book:
    I Love You Forever, The Kissing Hand
    Year Started:
    6/29/2015
    Tenure:
    1 Year
    Years in ECE industry:
    14
    Education:
    Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education with a Minor in Teaching Social Studies and Environmental Science. Certified Circle of Security Parent Facilatator and Certified Parent and Family Educator.
  • Ms. Carrie Dahl

    Ms. Carrie Dahl, Assistant Director

    This bridge will only take you half way there. The last few steps you have to take alone. ~ Shel Silverstein

    Carrie graduated from the University of Wisconsin River Falls in 2006 with a major in Psychology and a minor in Music.

    She started at Blaine KinderCare in 2006 as a Program Specialist. She has spent time as the Assistant Director at Mounds View KinderCare, and as the Director at Brooklyn Park KinderCare. She is very excited about her role as the Assistant Director at Lexington Avenue KinderCare.

    Carrie's experience in different roles, and her ability to build strong relationships, makes her an invaluable member of the Lexington Avenue KinderCare team.
     

    Previous Experience:
    Carrie has spent time at KinderCare Learning Centers in Blaine, Mounds View, and Brooklyn Park.
    Favorite Children's Book:
    The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson
    Year Started:
    9/6/2006
    Tenure:
    10 Years
    Education:
    Bachelor's of Science Degree in Psychology
  • Miss Nico comes to our team with a strong drive and passion for helping children. She has a Bachelor's degree in Women's Studies, and loves the relationships she is building with our families and the amazing kids in her classroom with Miss Terri. She is a strong, confident teacher who I know will make a huge difference in the lives of every child she spends time with. More information to come soon!

  • Miss Ashley

    Miss Ashley, Infant A

    Miss Ashley is the perfect compliment to the strong infant team. She is one of the most organized, structured people I know. She has found her true passion in children, and will have a very successful career with us at KinderCare. More information coming soon!

  • Ms. Jen

    Ms. Jen, Infant A

    There is nothing more contagious than laughter of young children: it doesn't even matter what they are laughing about. - Criss Jami

    Ms. Jen joined KinderCare in 1999 and has her Child Development Associate's Credential. She enjoys watching each child discover who they are, and she loves to see their individual imaginations at work. She takes great pleasure in contributing to help children reach all of the important developmental milestones in the Infant room, and she takes great pride watching them progress through the classroom levels at Lexington Avenue KinderCare, all the while building upon their earliest educational accomplishments.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    Moo Baa La La La
    Year Started:
    8/1/1999
    Tenure:
    17 Years
    Education:
    Child Development Associate's Credential
  • Ms. Jamie

    Ms. Jamie, Infant B

    I believe in taking the time to know each individual child in order to meet their needs. I want them to become confident, creative and successful students as they grow to be the most amazing person they can be.

    Ms. Jamie's impressive experience as an Early Childhood Educator makes her an incredibly valued member of our group of educators.  

    Ms. Jamie has been with KinderCare since 1979 and teaches in the Infant classroom. With Early Childhood Education courses at St. Paul Technical College and Century College, Jamie brings a wealth of knowledge to the Lexington Avenue KinderCare team. She has worked with children of all ages, from Infant to PreKindergarten.

    She enjoys watching children go through new experiences, and learn from each one as they progress through their developmental journey. Ms. Jamie truly loves being around children who are excited and motivated by learning something new.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    Angels Everywhere
    Year Started:
    9/1/1979
    Tenure:
    37 Years
  • Miss Tammie

    Miss Tammie, Infant B

    Miss Tammie comes to us with a very long history in early childhood education. She ran her own home daycare for many years. Her loving and nuturing personality is a compliment to any classroom she is in. More information to come!

  • Ms. Deb

    Ms. Deb, Multi Age

    There is nothing I love more than seeing children grow and learn in such amazing and inspiring ways!

    Deb has been a KinderCare employee since 2015, but she has been a part of the KinderCare family since 2011! She loved the experience her child has had while enrolled in our programs, and wanted to help other children benefit from our enrichments and environment in the same wonderful ways that her son has.

    Favorite Children's Book:
    All Kids Books!!
    Year Started:
    3/18/2015
    Tenure:
    1 Year
  • Ms. Ellie

    Ms. Ellie, Multiage Specialist

    In life you have two choices: To become BETTER or to become BITTER.

    Hi, I'm Ellie! I grew up on a hobby farm and have brought my love of kids, nature, and animals here to KinderCare. I love meeting new people and building relationships with families and children. 

    Previous Experience:
    Special needs PCA Intern at Pediatric Therapy Clinic
    Favorite Children's Book:
    Goodnight Moon
    Year Started:
    8/18/2015
    Tenure:
    1 Year
    Years in ECE industry:
    8
    Education:
    B.S. Kinesiology & Psychology
  • Ms. Terri

    Ms. Terri, Prekindergarten

    I love helping my kids reach their goals and accomplish what at times seems impossible. They are so smart and ready to take on the world; nothing is impossible!

    Miss Terri has been in the education field for the past 25 years. She has worked in elementary schools in a variety of aspects, and saw firsthand how important a foundation of Early Education truly is for a child's elementary school career. Terri has been with KinderCare since October of 2014, and has made our Prekindergarten class shine! She loves the children in her classroom, and from the sounds of joy and wonder in her classroom, it's obvious that they love her too!
     

    Favorite Children's Book:
    If I ran the Zoo
    Year Started:
    10/14/2014
    Tenure:
    2 Years
    Years in ECE industry:
    25
  • Ms. Jenny

    Ms. Jenny, Preschool

    Miss Jenny comes to us fresh out of college. She graduated in spring of 2016 with her Bachelor's of Arts in Early Childhood Education. She is ready to make a difference in the lives of the children here at Lexington Ave KinderCare, and we are ready to see all the amazing things she will do!   More information coming soon!

    Education:
    BA - Early Childhood Education
  • Ms. Kenzie

    Ms. Kenzie, Toddler Classroom

    Miss Kenzie comes to our team with a great passion for education! She is showing amazing things in her classroom with Ashley, and we know she will become a strong leader in our building. More information coming soon!

    Year Started:
    6/14/2016
  • Ms. Ashley B.

    Ms. Ashley B., Toddlers

    Miss Ashley comes to us right out of college where she earned her Bachelor's of Arts in Early Childhood. She has a drive to help our kids learn and grow that is unsurpassed by many! We are excited to see the great changes and growth our toddler room will have under her leadership! More information coming soon!

December 2016 Events

December Hero Image
Filter Center Calendar
  1. Thursday December 01, 2016
    1. December's Learning Focus

      Children 6 weeks to 3 years old: Family, Friends, and Things that Go!

      Infants and toddlers will be exploring family and friends, while three-year-olds will focus on things that go vroom! Social and emotional development is foundational to growth and development in babies, so this month, infants and toddlers will participate in activities that reinforce their connection to family while also exploring connections that exist outside their home, such as friends. Meanwhile, their older friends in Discovery Preschool will learn about and play around with things that move (like bicycles, cars, buses, trains, and airplanes), which are all very exciting for little ones as they continue to explore the world outside their homes. 

      Children 4–5 years old: My Country + Tools and Machines

      The four- and five-year-olds continue exploring the world around them by learning about the state and country they live in! They’ll sings songs, play games based on travel, and learn about flags, state foods, and more. Children will also be introduced to cardinal directions (east, west, north, and south) and gain an appreciation for travel and meeting new friends from different places. 

      Children are naturally fascinated with machines and how things work and are put together. So to encourage that fascination, during the second half of this month children will learn about and play around with tools and machines. In addition to building literacy skills by using the names of machines and tools, children will develop math skills by graphing information, counting wheels, and more.

  2. Monday December 26, 2016
    1. Center Closed in Observance of Christmas Day

About Our Center

Set off the road in the pleasant surroundings of a quiet and secluded Shoreview office park area, our center is both peaceful and spacious. Every teacher at our center implements curriculum that is specifically designed for the age-group in their classroom. This curriculum helps children to gain confidence and mastery of the concepts and ideas that are most important to their educational development. We are dedicated to maintaining extraordinary teaching standards and quality experiences for the children in our care.

Meals & Menus

Meals Served

  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • PM Snack

Additional Menu Options

  • Gluten free
  • Vegetarian
  • Special diets

Center Menu

Holidays Observed

We observe the following holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • President's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • 4th of July
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

Please note that because holidays observed may vary between centers, please be sure to check with your Center Director for specific closures.

Health and Safety

Our number one priority is child safety. All of our teachers are First Aid and CPR certified. In addition, all teachers are trained on Sudden Unexpected Infant Death and Abusive Head Trauma. Many health and safety trainings are conducted annually. We have a dedicated Health and Safety Coordinator on site who conducts monthly Fire and Disaster drills and daily checks of the center, playground and equipment. A Public Health Nurse also visits the center monthly to review our policies and procedures. Our center features fenced playgrounds and a keypad secured entrance. Our teachers conduct name to face attendance every thirty minutes and at transition times.

At KinderCare, what families say about us means a lot. Read below some of the great experiences our families have had with us.

Share Your Story
If you have a story about your experience at KinderCare, please share your story with us.

Both of our children have attended KinderCare since the age of 12 weeks. We chose this school because of the caring staff and the engaging curriculum.  As a new parent, I was terrified to return to work; our experience with KinderCare removed all of my fear and replaced it with gratitude for the wonderful, caring, talented, teachers and the attention and love my children received.

Sending our children to KinderCare has been joyful.  We know they are happy, safe, learning, and feel special. At the end of each day, both of my boys are so excited to share what they've done in the classroom - art work, writing activities, baking classes - this is a hands-on, fun, engaging school with a great curriculum.

 

- Mother

To all families considering this center for care of your children: Our twin girls, now almost four years old, have been coming to KinderCare at the Lexington Avenue location since they were 9 weeks old. As a mom with a full-time, outside-the-home job and a dad on frequent business travel, we have always found the reliability of friendly, knowledgeable teachers with extensive hours (for scheduling flexibility) and thoughtful curriculum (for confidence of learning even at the earliest ages) comforting and ideal. As first-time parents, we were also repeatedly grateful for guidance and experienced suggestions that our teachers would provide when we asked for it. We even learned from the wisdom of other parents at the center with situations similar to ours. Most important is that our daughters are happy and genuinely look forward to going to school each day and to sharing with us the many activities and discoveries they have had when we see them in the afternoons. Like many moms and dads, we wish for more opportunities to be involved with these important events. Throughout the year, KinderCare programs provide us a window into the girls’ day: from conferences with a very helpful and comprehensive evaluation structure, to seasonal galas and performances, to kind and attentive one-on-one talks – showing we are important even when the energetic afternoon bustle surrounds us at pick-up. We’ve even been welcomed to participate as we are able in special daytime activities such as educational guest entertainment, birthday celebrations, and as a volunteer to share in book reading time. And we not only learn daily about our girls’ adventures but we have had the chance to meet many of their friends. We find that it does not take long for a new friend to become a good friend. Make a visit to check out this bright, supportive environment. Sincerely, Liz and Chris A. KinderCare family since January 2009

- Parents
×

See what’s happening on the blog

Our staff would like to welcome you to visit our center. The staff takes pride in keeping up to date with the latest trends in Early Childhood Education. Ongoing training is offered to the staff during the year at the center and though the various training opportunities in the community.

View More

Resources for Parents

Download helpful guides and other resources to make your child care decisions easy.

What should I look for when choosing a childcare center?:

Enrollment Agreement: